19
May
10

distributed version control systems

About 2 years ago I first read something about distributed version control. It was a post in a friend’s blog (portuguese), I never used or tried any distributed version control alternative, but the name (and idea seems to give much power to developers and it) doesn´t sounds good for me.

More than a year latter I find a (excelent and funny) mercurial tutorial by Joel Spolsky. Since this day I can’t wait to get into a good project to begin using Mercurial in my company. It isn’t an easy task because only CVS (yes, some crazy people still use that) and SVN (recently updated to 1.6, only a few months ago our server version was still 1.4!!!) are currently (officialy) suported in my company servers.

If you have any experience with a migration from SVN or CVS to Mercurial (or any other dvcs), please send us your feedback.

I’ll report my experiences as soon as possible.

0 Responses to “distributed version control systems”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ClustrMaps

Blog Stats

  • 353,192 hits since aug'08

